Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-12 - 7:55 a.m.

they took you away

from your shack in tupelo

you wanted to be a star

they told you not to worry

you would be a God

you shook your head in disbelief

and your mama watched it all

with quiet pride

always worried

about what would happen to her precious

one

bespeckled in jewels

sweating sweat that was prized as gold

you still shook your head

in disbelief

but handled it all with a king's charm

you were still that boy

from the shack

Elvis,

I'm sorry for what we did to you. We "ate you up and spit you out" as we were taught to do by our culture, the culture that you helped to found. I hate when people make jokes about you. It makes my skin crawl to think that nothing is sacred in this culture. You were only an entertainer that did the best he could to keep us happy, and all we can do is make jokes about the many cheeseburgers you ate and the numerous scarves that you threw out to your adoring public. Why are you mocked for your gifts? Why can't we just concentrate on the beautiful pure voice that emitted from your golden throat? Your voice makes me think of Dixieland, of America, of Mississippi mornings drenched in mist and Tennessee sunrises. Your smile makes me want to cry. I wish we could all still be as innocent as you were. I hope we never rape another human being the way we raped you blind. (I know we will)

Yours Truly,

Michael

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!